Archive for September 26th, 2011

September 26, 2011

Amber’s Lust For Life, Orchestrated By Girls

Hi, Hearingade-rs! My name’s Amber Valentine. You may know me as Radio Free Chicago‘s missing in action editor in chief, Mezzic‘s most long winded reviewer, the professor of Okkervil River-ology at Indie College, or as Awe Chasm‘s resident expert on all things indie. Perhaps you ventured to the great Midwest during one of Daytrotter‘s many great Barnstormer tours and you encountered me while I did time as the world’s least sober intern. Or maybe you just read Abby’s twitter and you see her many tweets mentioning @amberaudra. Those, amongst many other things, are my claims to fame.

My life consists of rocking and rolling, drinking and smoking, and sending Hearingade’s fearless showrunner some drunk texts that may or may not end up on the internet for you to chuckle at. When I’m not slutting it up with the cutest musician in the room, however, I’m sitting in my basement, listening to music loud enough to make my neighbors shut their windows, singing along at the top of my lungs, and thinking “Oh my god, this song describes my life perfectly!” In a series of articles here on Hearingade, I’ll share some of these songs with you and then tell you just why it’s so apt for my life, thus combining my two favorite things to write about: Music and myself.

2011 has been a weird year for me. After some serious heartbreaks, I got so sad that I couldn’t possibly get any sadder but instead of giving up and dying, I managed to realize that life, for all of it’s supreme shitiness, can really rule. Since that moment of realization, I’ve been living it up with a lust for life that can only be orchestrated by the Girls song of the same name.

Girls – Lust For Life

read more »