Have you Heard? New Tunes I’m Digging This Week

Our dear Abby is SO great at sending new stuff our way that I feel like a jerk for waiting this long to actually write about anything that’s ended up in my inbox. There’s no shortage of great music out there (yay!), but it takes time to wade through it all to find stuff that I like, and uh. Well, time is something we are ALL short on, for sure.

Anyway! I finally got off my ass (not literally. I’m actually on it, on a chair, right now, so I can write this) and dug through the links to find a few things that are making me happy right now.

“Sleeping Alone” by The Great American Novel
This is pretty great! I love the way it starts out all retro-du-woppy and then busts into some bouncy sing-along goodness (complete with bells!). Definitely a band I’ll start paying attention to, starting with this full-length album, Kissing. This single is a good starting point, or you can listen to the whole album on bandcamp.

“Barrels in Georgia” by Crash the Satellites
This band is kinda calling to me with some power-pop beats that still somehow verge on indie-rock. Man, that sounds like a lot of bullshit, doesn’t it? I clearly don’t know how to write about music, at ALL. But, hey. I like this. Check out the single for “Barrels in Georgia” and tell me how wrong I am. Then listen to the rest of their self-titled album and see if you like it too.

“In Dreams” by Another Green World
I’m a sucker for music that sounds like it was made in the ’80s. And no, I don’t mean Bon Jovi. I mean, retro-tinged goodness filled with synth and deep drum beats. Another Green World adds in some floaty vocals for an effect that somehow reminds me a little of Erasure. It’s like a bunch of new wave bands smashed together, and it’s clearly made for listening to after you’ve had a few drinks and some good conversation. Actually, this would make a great movie song, non?

Honorable mention:
Hey, remember “The Safety Dance” and “Pop Goes the World?” Men Without Hats just released a NEW album called Love in the Age of War,  and you can listen to it for free on Spotify, by way of their Facebook page. I’m still processing the thing as a whole, because it’s weird to hear Ivan’s voice and be like “DUDE THAT IS THE SAFETY DANCE GUY” — and also, their new stuff sounds like a mash-up of like Devo and Bauhaus. No, seriously. That’s how I’m hearing it, anyway. It’s not bad, it’s just … strange. Really, really strange.

Comment

