melodysheep remixes more than just Mr. Rogers

Okay. So by now you’ve all seen this “Garden of Your Mind” video featuring a remixed Mr. Rogers. It took a few friends posting it on Facebook before I decided to check it out, but when I did. Oh, you guys. I almost cried! Mr. Rogers was like my TV dad when I was a kid. He was such a sweet, wholesome man who knew how to relate to children and taught us how to appreciate all the wonders of the world. So hearing him talking (albeit autotuned) over an emotional piano melody brought up a wonderful and heartbreaking wave of feelings dating back to my oldest memories.

So of course, I wanted an mp3 of this. WHAT LUCK that not only does one exist, but it’s downloadable at Bandcamp for free (name your price, in fact, but more people respond to the word “free”). Not only that, but, geez, you guys. This John D. Boswell guy has remixed tons of stuff! Including, but not limited to Yoda, Sam Jackson’s reading of Go the F**k to Sleep, and the Snuggie commercial.

This has existed for almost a year. How did it take until now for the world to find out about it?! Or maybe I’m just slow and you all knew about it all along. Either way, I’m making it the Bandcamp Pick of the Week now, because I’m sure the viral nature of the above video may have produced curiosity in more people than just myself.

3 Comments to “melodysheep remixes more than just Mr. Rogers”

  1. I’m so glad you posted this video! This weekend, my pals and I came home from a sultry night of barbecuing/bar-be-hopping and started a round of YouTube roulette–this was my pick. Not a dry eye in the house. Granted, there was a lot of whiskey consumption prior to that, but no matter. They don’t make ’em like Mr. R anymore.

    I, for one, can’t wait to check out the Snuggie commercial one!

  2. Glad to know I’m not the only person who got weepy. I was mostly okay until it gets to the part where he says “Did you ever think of the many things you’ve learned to do,” and shows him smiling on the cherry picker. Then I just fell apart for some reason. I guess cause I miss him, and you’re right! They don’t make ’em like him anymore. A world without Mr. Rogers suddenly just seems like a world that’s not complete.

  3. I had to watch this about 20 times in a row when I first found it! I discovered your post and link to it from one of my own where I interview the guy behind the music: Interview with MelodySheep and Symphony of Science Mastermind John Boswell. Thought you might find it interesting – I’d welcome your comments if you’d like to stop by. Thanks!

Comment

