Video Raid: The Hall of Mirrors, ‘Say Goodbye’

Recently I discovered this London dream-pop ensemble on bandcamp and snatched up their lovely Love Child EP. After learning a little more about The Hall of Mirrors, I found a video for “Say Goodbye,” not available on the EP, but possibly my favorite of all their tunes I’ve heard. It appears at one time the song was available for download somewhere on their site, but I can no longer find it. So instead, I’ve just been playing this YouTube clip relentlessly, familiarizing myself with the mime dance of what appears to be the band’s frontwoman, Jessica Winter.

Winter comes equipped with a voice like jazz-pop singer Katie Melua and theatrical music sensibilities. “Maybe,” off the EP, sounds like it belongs on a Broadway stage. This element in her music brings a very artful quality to the fore, and the old-fashioned moving pictures displayed behind her in the video suddenly make a lot of sense.

Comment

