Band I Dislike, Song I Do Not: U2, ‘Bullet the Blue Sky’

Reasons I dislike U2

  • Bono isn’t a good vocalist.
  • The Edge’s revolutionary guitar style usually involves playing through three separate delay pedals and going “Hey guys, doesn’t that sound WEIRD?”
  • They haven’t made a legitimately good record since the late ’80s yet the press keeps S-ing their D’s.
  • Did I mention their names are Bono and The Edge? You’re musicians, not damn comic book characters.
  • The sunglasses, the leather jackets, the beanies. Make up your minds — are you hot or cold? Guess what, it doesn’t matter, you’re probably indoors. Douchebags.

Reasons I like “Bullet the Blue Sky”

  • Driving bass line, which is basically what the whole song is built around. Lead bass FTW. ALWAYS.
  • Nice, somewhat understated slide guitar. Touché, Edge. (You’re still bald. Not fooling anybody with those hats.)
  • The “rattle and hum” lyric, which made for one of the best concert video titles of all-time.
  • That whole “arms of America” ending reminds me of the ending of this song (and that song just happens to be the song that made me pick up a guitar, so… there).
Tags: ,

One Comment to “Band I Dislike, Song I Do Not: U2, ‘Bullet the Blue Sky’”

  1. “They haven’t made a legitimately good record since the late ’80s yet the press keeps S-ing their D’s.” Agreed. Although I do love ALL of The Joshua Tree, but Bullet the Blue Sky is a standout, for sure.

    I’d say I’m a fan of U2 up through 1990 – a few songs on Achtung Baby are alright, but that’s probably mostly my 80s teen nostalgia talking. (confession: I saw them 3x on tour, and one of those was Zooropa).

Comment

