Band I Dislike, Song I Do Not: Def Leppard – Rock of Ages

Reasons I dislike Def Leppard

  • “Pour Some Sugar On Me.” Everybody is dumber for having heard that song. I award you no points and may God have mercy on your souls.
  • I’d rather have to hear the sessions of that one-armed drummer relearning how to play than Joe Elliott yelp his way through “Photograph.”
  • Def Leppard was like the biggest thing in the world in the mid-’80s, so obviously they’re terrible.
  • The spelling. If it wasn’t for their dumb British asses we wouldn’t have had to endure through stupidly-spelled acts like Limp Bizkit, Linkin Park, or Jackyl with a Y.

Reasons I like “Rock of Ages”

  • “Unta gleeben glouten globen.” So stupid…LY AWESOME!
  • They stole the riff from Led Zeppelin’s atrocious “In the Evening” (0:57 mark), but they’re not the greatest rock band of all time so it isn’t a huge letdown.
  • That chorus? Pretty bitchin’.
  • Secretly I’m a big dumb dipshit who likes sports, a nice slab of steak, and shout-singing “I WANT ROCK-A-ROLL!” That’s right, I’m a man. Deal with it.

2 Comments to “Band I Dislike, Song I Do Not: Def Leppard – Rock of Ages”

  1. Glad to hear at least one song off Pyromania got you – I personally enjoy the ENTIRE album, but I agree: Pour Some Sugar On Me is terrible (not that it stopped me from singing along to it in the 80s).

  2. I’d rather have to hear the sessions of that one-armed drummer relearning how to play than Joe Elliott yelp his way through “Photograph.” You’re awesome with a capital awe!

Comment

