Band I Dislike, Song I Do Not: Soundgarden, ‘Outshined’

I’m kind of afraid to write this down, because I feel like I might get kicked out of my city, but I am not a Soundgarden fan. (Hopefully the fact that I do like Pearl Jam will save me from being stoned to death.)

In the ’90s, I had violent reactions to “Spoonman” (REALLY? IT’S ON THE RADIO AGAIN??) and “Black Hole Sun,” which left my grunge-loving friends scratching their heads. “But Amie! It’s SOUNDGARDEN! How can you not love them?” I don’t know, you guys, but I didn’t. I don’t. I recognize how important they were to the Seattle grunge scene, and Chris Cornell is amazing, and Kim Thayil is the best guitarist EVER … yada-yada-yada, but I have never been, and never will be, a Soundgarden fan.

BUT. There is one Soundgarden song that I really do love, and that’s “Outshined.” I can’t decide if it’s because Chris Cornell brings on the sex with his amazing hair-whipping, throaty screaming, and ridiculous chest muscles — or if it’s related to that time I watched a very drunk, very beautiful boy dance to it all alone at a club, mouth agape, while my friend mopped the drool up and closed my mouth gently, silently judging me. For whatever reason, it’s the one song by these guys that I can listen to over and over and not want to turn it off.

So there you go. I’m not grunge-heartless after all. Do I still get to keep my ’90s Seattle cred?

5 Comments to “Band I Dislike, Song I Do Not: Soundgarden, ‘Outshined’”

  1. Just had a Soundgarden conversation with someone this morning. Louder Than Love. The whole record brings on the sex with the amazing hair whipping, throaty scream and ridiculous chest muscles.

  2. I know that’s probably true, Kelly, but for some reason Outshined is the only song I feel that way about. :)

  3. Your taste is slightly backwards. Black Hole Sun is the good song, and Outshined is the dud. And Pearl Jam is exactly like rodent droppings.

  4. Thanks for the insightful comment, toonah! You definitely set the record straight.

  5. Haha, yes. Good to know taste is completely objective and Amie is pathologically wrong.

Comment

