Middle Brother’s ‘Someday’ Provides An Anthem For The Commitmentphone In Us All

My name is Amber Valentine and I am a professional commitment-phobe.  I didn’t realize how bad it was until recently when I found myself flying into a panic over the word “date” and its sudden emergence in my life. Nothing scares me more than the idea of someone falling in love with me — and that horrific series of events all starts with a date. Sure, to the male involved it was just going to be time spent with a pretty girl who’d probably make out with him but, to me, that date was a death sentence for my soul. In my mind, my consenting to that date meant giving up my identity. I never realized it until recently but after years spent as the ultimate bachelorette, being single has become such a huge part of my life and of who I am. I like my life. And I like who I am. So why would I want to change that?

I fell in love with Middle Brother‘s self-titled debut before it even came out. It was impossible for me not to love the band. See, Middle Brother is an indie rock supergroup consisting of the frontmen from three tried-and-true Amber favorites (and Daytrotter Barnstormer alums), Deer TickDelta Spirit, and Dawes. I expected, however, to more love the project for the men involved rather than for the music itself. I can’t help but have ill feelings toward most supergroups. I think Monsters of Folk soured me. My problem with most supergroups is the fact that the artists involved always seem to use their material that they’ve deemed not “good enough” for their main band or solo career. With Middle Brother, however, that wasn’t the case. In fact, I’m willing to say that some of Delta Spirit lead singer Matt Vasquez’s best work to date was with Middle Brother and the highlight of that record for me is “Someday.”

Middle Brother – Someday

“Someday” is a sixties-style rock and roll hip-shaker with some of the least romantic lyrics you’ve heard lately, that cast Vasquez as … well … the Amber of the situation. From the opening distorted chords, backed by a chorus of Shangri-La-esque “Aahs,” you know that “Someday” is gonna be a rocker. Of course, that vintage noise appealed to me greatly but those lyrics are what really got me hooked. Listening to “Someday” for the first time was like hearing my own private narrative whenever I find out a guy is interested in me, only Vasquez’s pack-and-a-half-a-day voice executed it so much sexier than I ever could have dreamed. The whole song outlines Vasquez leading girls on only to cut and run a few days later. “I held your hand and said ‘A long time coming’; A week later you just saw me runnin’.” Oh my god, I do that exact same thing all the time! I all but squealed upon first listen. “I don’t know what it is about me; I got a problem with intimacy.” Me too, Matt Vasquez! ME TOO!

I’d like to be able to wrap this blog up by telling you all the happy ending, which in this scenario would be “But I met Vasquez one day and then we fell in love so hard it was stupid. Then we got married and we’re both super happy now.” Sadly, I’ve yet to meet Vasquez so that situation has yet to transpire (and I do wholeheartedly believe that he will fall in love with me when we inevitably do cross paths) and I’m still the same girl I’ve always been. But what I can tell you is that if you’re on the other end of someone like Vasquez describes in “Someday,” you won’t be alone too long. In fact, every single one of my exes is either married or in a very happy long term relationship. As for me? I like being alone. And I’ll stop slutting it up and settle down … Someday.

Comment

