Love: It’s Not Just For Suckers Anymore

Alright, guys, I’m going to level with you. I want to get married. I desperately want to get married. I deny that fact up and down 98 percent of the time, but sometimes things happen that make me realize that despite my aversion to dating, I totally do want to fall in love. Right now is one of those times that reminds me that somewhere, deep down inside, I am kind of a romantic.

My friend Mylynda, of Indie College fame, is preparing for her wedding later this month to a guy I’ve never met but I’ve heard great things about. Being the musically inclined pal that I am, I offered Mylynda a mix of songs that, were I to ever get married, I’d want played at my wedding. And being the overachiever that I am, I couldn’t just let it rest at one mix. Instead, I had to make two!

I doubt I’m going to get married. I’m 27 and I’ve yet to have a relationship I took seriously. I’ve treated guys so horribly that Tim Kasher would call me cold. Even so, I hope to get it right one day and when that day comes, it’ll all culminate with the hippest wedding of all time and as the guests walk into the dusty barn I’ll say my “I do’s” in, this is the mix of songs that’ll playing. Just in case that doesn’t happen though, I’d hate for such a great array of songs to go to waste. So here you go, Mylynda. Have my dream wedding. And just wait because the mix for the reception is gonna be killer!

Love: It’s Not Just For Suckers Anymore
Songs To Get Married To.

The Beatles – I Will
Love you forever and forever, love you with all my heart.

AA Bondy – Lovers’ Waltz
Do you wanna dance? Will you wear my ring?

Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jr. – God Only Knows
You’ll never need to doubt it, I’ll make you so sure about it.

Feist – Mushaboom
I’ve got a man to stick it out, we’ll make a home from rented house.

M. Ward – Fools Says
I thought that all the good ones were gone, you’re here to tell me I was wrong.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Maps
They don’t love you like I love you.

Jon Brion – Strings That Tie to You
Everything’s a memory with strings that tie to you.

Elliott Smith – Happiness (Acoustic)

All I want now is happiness for you and me.

Cat Power – Sea Of Love
I want to tell you how much I love you.

Old ’97’s – Question
Someday somebody’s gonna ask you a question that you should say yes to.

Sea Wolf – Middle Distance Runner
Tonight, I will love you forever.

Maria Taylor – Hitched!
Your tender eyes, they’ll glisten with pride, your smile so satisfied.

Beck – True Love Will Find You In The End
Don’t give up until, true love will find you in the end.

Eisley – Combinations
I went for so long and I was so wrong, then I met you.

2 Comments to “Love: It’s Not Just For Suckers Anymore”

  1. LOVE this mix! Also, I don’t really think there’s a time limit on when you can get married. Just sayin’. (says the girl who got married at 27 to the wrong guy, only to find the right one nearly 10 years later)

  2. I love your song selections, there is still lots of hope for marriage, Well at least I hope so because I myself am wanting to be married in the future…

Comment

