Chasing Amie: 12 Songs That Taught Me Something

Note to 13-year-old self: That E.T. shirt rules, but never get a perm ever again. It will make your life SUCK.

As I’m sure everyone who’s ever attempted such a thing will tell you, picking out songs to compose your musical autobiography is an excruciating, maddening task. Thus when all of us hearingade contributors were asked to pick a mix of songs that define who we are, I panicked. “How do I approach this?” and “How in the hell do I even begin to pick songs?” quickly became “ARRRGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!” *headslammingintodesk*

But, I powered through, for Abby. Dear, sweet, lovable Abby (who somehow thinks I’m worthy of writing for her site. what.).

So I present to you 12 songs that are important to me because they represent times when I learned some harder-than-shit life lessons. Songs that I can always listen to and remember how the proverbial DUH smacked me in the head and told me it was gonna be okay, and that my life would actually not suck forever. And it’s true, I am (now) far from suckage. In fact, my life is pretty damn great…you know, except for that whole “seeking approval from people who might actually read my writing” thing.

 Chasing Amie: 12 Songs that Taught me Something
Download this Mix on ITunes – or, listen on Spotify.

“Working Title” by Arlo

Was it overwhelming? Looking to the past? When I finally found out, our team had come in last.

“Why Can’t I Be You” by The Cure

I’ll run around in circles ’til I run out of breath, I’ll eat you all up, or I’ll just hug you to death. 

“Love Junkie” by Dear John Letters

I need a fix. 

“But Not Tonight” by Depeche Mode

Here on my own, all on my own. How good it feels to be alone, tonight. 

“Troubled Times” by Fountains of Wayne

Maybe one day soon it will all come out, how you dream about each other sometimes. 

“The Killing Jar” by Siouxsie and the Banshees

Dust to rust, ashes on gashes, hand around the killing jar. 

“Grant Hart” by The Posies

Take the couch at someone’s house and wait around to score. 

“My Best Friend’s Girl” by The Cars

She used to be mine. She’s so…fine. 

“Blue Monday” by New Order

Tell me how does it feel, when your heart grows cold. 

“The Authority Song” by Jimmy Eat World

I don’t seem obvious, do I? 

“Hey” by Pixies

Hey, must be a devil between us. Or whores in my head, whores at the door, whore in my bed. 

“There’s A Fire” by OK Go

I never say quite what I mean, and never mean quite what I say. 

Comment

