She Told You She Was Trouble: Amber Valentine, Condensed Into Twelve Songs

I approached making this mix a number of different ways. At first I wanted a theme to make use of or a story to tell, one incarnation of which was a “Femme Fetale” mix which may yet see the light of day because let’s face it: Everyone loves a good femme fetale. I kept making mixes for days and then scrapping them, uncertain of what approach to take when suddenly I realized it: I should make a mix about me!

Narcissistic? Of course! But it makes sense, I swear! You see, most of my posts here are going to (in theory) be about me and the soundtrack to my life so it’s logical that my mix would be Amber-centric. And what exactly can we glean from this mix? Well, I’m just like Abby. I want to just get to the part where we bang. And I have some pretty sweet taste in tunes, too.

Oh, and the picture? I swear it was Abby’s idea.


She Told You She Was Trouble: Amber Valentine, Condensed Into Twelve Songs

Wildlife – Stand in the Water

I can be a good friend and I can be a good lover but I can’t do both.

The Walkmen – The Rat

When I used to go out, I would know everyone that I saw. Now I go out alone if I go out at all.

Amy Winehouse – You Know I’m No Good

I told you I was trouble.

Metric – Help I’m Alive

Hard to be soft, tough to be tender.

Okkervil River – White Shadow Waltz

In a cold morning holding her lighter, wan White Shadow Waltz walks right through her prison walls.

Agent Ribbons – Don’t Touch Me

I’m a fool for a man who is not fixated on himself but not if he’s fixated on somebody else.

She & Him – Black Hole

I guess I’m young but I feel so weary.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Pin

Ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba ba, doonoo doonoo doonoo doonoo.

Lightning Love – Good Time

I can’t help havin’ a good time!

Yacht – Psychic City

I swear I fall in love every minute on the street.

Franz Ferdinand – L. Wells

All those men say you’ll never walk alone but you’ll never let them break your little heart.

Laura Marling – Alas I Cannot Swim (Live)

There’s a boy across the river but alas I cannot swim. I never will get to put my arms around him.

3 Comments to “She Told You She Was Trouble: Amber Valentine, Condensed Into Twelve Songs”

  1. I forgot to mention! That Yeah Yeah Yeahs song … those lyrics … SO SPOT ON.

  2. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Comment

